Here’s my answer to today’s theme assignment of solitude. It was found down at the farm park by the river. This is where I’ll stop and fish sometimes, or launch my kayak, or sometimes just sit at lunch to get away from the computer a bit. The river moves slow here just above the dam, and this time of year I usually have it all to myself. All the jet skis and water skiers and most of the fishing boats are gone. The light dances slowly on the water, which seems almost copper-colored in the fall. The geese go honking by, and if I’m really quiet and lucky, an eagle or osprey will glide past hunting for fish. I’ll occasionally hear the bobcat up at the small nature center growl, which is pretty cool. Mostly it’s just quiet, which really has a sound all it’s own doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

